about membership

The ASSE is a unique organization because its membership is a cross-section of all segments of the plumbing industry including contractors, engineers, inspectors, journeymen, apprentices and many others. This unique composition gives our members the opportunity to exchange ideas, solve problems and provide a forum where all sides can express their views. No other industry group provides such a wide range of information.

Become a new member
Download a membership application form
Renew your existing membership

Benefits of ASSE Membership

  • Reduced fees for student/apprentice members and retired members
  • Opportunity to earn recognition awards
    Life (free) membership for retired members with 25+ years of continued membership

National Benefits

  • Receive monthly Newsletter containing Society news and activities and quarterly Plumbing Standards magazine containing technical articles, code and standards information and industry updates
  • Receive the Annual Meeting Year Books
  • Discounts on Society publications
  • Qualify for ASSE Scholarships
  • Voting privileges & discounted registration at ASSE Annual Meetings
  • Participate in National Committee activities

Technical and Committee Activities

ASSE Members have the opportunity to contribute to the organization by participating in the many comittees that drive the focus and direction of ASSE.

  • List of all ASSE Committees

  • Sustaining members

    Sustaining members are companies that are members of ASSE.

    View a List of all ASSE Sustaining Members

    National awards recognition programs

    Below is a description of all ASSE National Awards, along with an application form and/or list of requirements.

    Henry B. Davis Award

    "An annual merit award presented to a member who has contributed the most toward the advancement of sanitary engineering in accord with the ideals of the Society." Named after a Past President and foun3er of ASSE. Chapters should look for a mem3er with outstanding characteristics and dedication to ASSE to nominate. This is a very secretive award and it is important that the candidate not have knowledge of it. Send nominations to:
    H.B. Davis Award Committee Chair:
    Richard Morin, IPP
    901 Canterbury Road, Suite A,
    Westlake, OH 44145
    by July 31st of the current year.

    Fellow (FASSE) Award

    Presented to members in good standing for a minimum of 5 years, for their dedication and service to the Society. Up to 6 awards presented annually. Send nominations to:
    Fellow Award Committee Chair
    Donald Reichartz, IPP
    901 Canterbury Road, Suite A,
    Westlake, OH 44145
    by August 1st of the current year.

    James E Lewis Award

    The individual who recruites the most new members between September 1 & August 31

    Highest Percentage Increase Award

    The chapter with the highest percentage of new members between September 1 and August 31 of the current year.

    Patrick J. Higgins Award

    Presented to a person who demonstrates knowledge and support of voluntary, consensus standards & their adoption into code. Nominations must be submitted to the International Office by August 1st of the current year.

    Salvatore J. Farruggia Presidential Award

    The recipient is chosen by the outgoing International President and is presented to a person/s that has contributed to the success of that President's term.

    Most New Members Award

    Presented to the chapter that recruited the most new members between Sept. 1 & August 31 of the current year.

    Dewey R. Dedrick Award

    Presented to the chapter that has shown the best overall performance based on meetings, membership, management & promotion.